Who we are

We’re a group of volunteers trying to make SIGCHI conferences more accessible.

Jennifer Mankoff (Chair)

Jennifer Mankoff is the Richard E. Ladner Professor in the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering at the University of Washington. Her research is focused on giving people the voice, tools and agency to advocate for themselves. She strives to bring both structural and personal perspectives to her work. Similarly, her work in fabrication of accessible technologies considers not only innovative tools that can enable individual makers but also the larger clinical and sociological challenges to disseminating and sharing designs. Jennifer received her PhD at Georgia Tech, advised by Gregory Abowd and Scott Hudson, and her B.A. from Oberlin College.

Email: jmankoff@ acm.org

Personal website: https://make4all.org/portfolio/jennifer-mankoff/ 

Jennifer A. Rode (Vice Chair)

Jennifer is a Senior Lecturer at University College London’s Knowledge Lab and also the head of the Rainbow Lab. Jennifer’s research lies in the areas of Human-Computer Interaction and Ubiquitous Computing and examines the values of users and designers, and how those values influence the user-centered design process. Through a multi-disciplinary theoretical approach that draws from anthropology, gender studies, science and technology studies, design research, social informatics, and ubiquitous computing, as well as qualitative methods, Jennifer looks reflexively at the design process to see how our implicit biases and practices shape the artifacts we design, especially as we reconcile the values of designers and users.

Email: jen@acm.org

Personal website: http://www.jenniferarode.com 

Anne Spencer Ross (Student Volunteer Training Lead)

Anne is a PhD Candidate in the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science and Engineering at The University of Washington. Her broad interest is in Human Computer Interaction. She is passionate about enabling diverse groups of people to access, interact with, and communicate information through technology. She is currently working with James Fogarty and Jacob O. Wobbrock on making Android applications more accessible to people with disabilities. Anne received her B.S. in computer science from Colorado State University.

Email: ansross@cs.washington.edu 

Personal website: https://homes.cs.washington.edu/~ansross/ 

Megan Hofmann (Conference Liaison)

Megan is a PhD Student at the Human Computer Interaction Institute at Carnegie Mellon University. Her research focuses on the intersection of digital fabrication, disability, and healthcare. Her current research is exploring the design of Clinical CAD tools that will enable healthcare professionals to design and print a wide variety of medical devices. She is an NSF Fellow, and a Center for Machine Learning and Health Fellow. Megan is advised by Prof. Jennifer Mankoff of the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science at the University of Washington and Prof. Scott E. Hudson of the CMU HCII.

Email: hofmann.megan@gmail.com 

Personal website: https://www.megan-hofmann.com/ 

Dhruv Jain (Member at large, Access Chair Liasion)

Dhruv is a fourth year PhD student in Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Washington. He works at the intersection of accessibility and AI, particularly to enhance sound awareness for d/Deaf or hard of hearing people. His research is published at top HCI venues such as CHI, ASSETS, and UIST and he has received four best paper awards and honorable mentions. He introduced the unique method of auto-ethnography to the field of accessible computing and is an advocate of open science and research. He is also a Google Lime Fellow. Dhruv is advised by Profs. Jon Froehlich and Leah Findlater.

Email: djain@uw.edu 

Personal website: http://dhruvjain.info

Raja Kushalnagar (CHI SC Representative)

Raja is the Director of the Information Technology program in the Department of Science, Technology and Mathematics at Gallaudet University in Washington, DC. His responsibilities include strategic planning, local industry & alumni relations, and faculty mentoring, as well as teaching human-centered computing with a focus on accessible computing, application development, and cybersecurity courses. His research interests encompass the fields of accessible computing and accessibility/intellectual property law, with the goal of improving information access for deaf and hard of hearing individuals. He has published several peer-reviewed publications and received grants in the fields of accessible computing, accessible law and intellectual property law.


Personal website: https://my.gallaudet.edu/raja-kushalnagar 

Elaine Schaertl Short (Communications Chair, Access Chair Liasion)

Elaine Schaertl Short is the Clare Boothe Luce Assistant Professor in the Tufts University Department of Computer Science where she . She completed her Ph.D. at the University of Southern California (USC) in 2017, and received her M.S. in Computer Science from USC in 2012 and her B.S. in Computer Science from Yale University in 2010. She is the recipient of a number of awards for excellence in research, teaching, and service, including a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship, a Google Anita Borg Scholarship, and the Best Research Assistant, Best Teaching, and Service Awards from the USC Department of Computer Science. Her research focuses on designing algorithms that enable robust assistive human-robot interaction in schools, homes, crowds, and other natural environments.

Email: elaine.short@tufts.edu 

Personal website: http://eshort.tech

Lab website: https://aabl.cs.tufts.edu

Özge Subaşı (Website chair, Support Access Chair Liasion)

Özge is an Assistant Professor at the College of Social Sciences and Humanities at Koc University, leading the Futurewell: Co-creation and Wellbeing Group, the first participatory design research and wellbeing lab in Turkey. Ozge’s research is on co-creation with underserved populations, on topics such as assistive technologies, gerontechnology, social and situational aspects of access and the new forms of neighborhoods.

Email ozsubasi@ku.edu.tr  

Personal website: http://futurewell.ku.edu.tr/ 

Garreth Tigwell (Member at large, Support Access Chair Liasion)

Garreth is an Assistant Professor at the Rochester Institute of Technology. His research focuses on improving the accessibility of digital spaces for people with congenital, acquired, or situationally induced impairments, through increasing the necessary support that will allow designers to make usable and accessible content. Ensuring accessibility occurs from the point of creation will minimize circumstances where burden is put on end users finding workarounds to overcome inaccessible design. Garreth obtained his PhD from the University of Dundee and was advised by David Flatla and Rachel Menzies.

Email: garreth.w.tigwell@rit.edu 
Personal website: www.garrethtigwell.com

Shari Trewin (SIGACCESS Representative)

Shari manages the IBM Accessibility Leadership team, chairs ACM’s Special Interest Group on Accessible Computing (SIGACCESS), is an ACM Distinguished Scientist, and a member of ACM’s Diversity and Inclusion Council. Her research interests lie in accessibility, usability and artificial intelligence technologies. She has a background in artificial intelligence and computer science, including intelligent tutoring systems and parallel programming.

Email: trewin@us.ibm.com
Personal website: https://researcher.watson.ibm.com/researcher/view.php?person=us-trewin